Welcome to EPEX SPOT!

General conditions

Any user of this website expressly agrees to the Conditions of Use published in the Privacy Notice and the Usage of Website.


Market Data Use

The content of the Website is to be used exclusively for internal reasons. Commercial usage is only allowed after explicit approval of EPEX SPOT. Please click here for General Conditions of Data Use.

EPEX SPOT members elect new Exchange Council

Renewed Committee to meet in June 2024

Amsterdam / Berlin / Bern / Brussels / London / Paris / Vienna, 22 May 2024. The members of the European Power Exchange EPEX SPOT have elected a new Exchange Council. All elected members have accepted their mandate.

The Exchange Council’s main mission is to represent the interests of all Exchange members and to make their voice heard in the decision making process of the Exchange. The Exchange Council therefore mirrors the diversity of EPEX SPOT trading members. The Council is composed of 29 elected members from four categories, plus permanent guests representing academics and Transmission System Operators.

The following members were elected in their respective categories.

The group of Utilities and Aggregators will be represented by:

  • Alpiq AG: Christoph Bellin, Head Asset Trading
  • Axpo Solutions AG: Marco Saalfrank, Head Continental Europe Merchant Trading, Member of the Management Board
  • EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG: Dr. Bernhard Walter, Head of Market Design and Regulatory Affairs
  • EDF Trading: Jonathan Halimi, Intraday Manager
  • Edison SpA: Andrea Siri, Head of Origination
  • ENGIE SA: Hélène Robaye, Head of Regulation and Market Design at GEMS
  • E.ON Energy Markets GmbH: Tim Pirnay, Director Forward Trading
  • RWE Supply and Trading GmbH: Paul Dawson, Head of Regulatory Affairs
  • Statkraft Markets GmbH: Patrick Otto, Vice President Energy Management Continent
  • TotalEnergies Gas and Power Limited: Benoît Grehaigne, Head of Short Term Power Trading Europe
  • Uniper Global Commodities SE: Michael Bonde, Lead Power Trader
  • Vattenfall Energy Trading GmbH: Simon Peiner, Director Prompt Trading and Operations
  • VERBUND Energy4Business GmbH: Manfred Knabl, Head of Trading

The group of Trading Companies will be represented by:

  • Centrica Energy Limited: Mikkel Larsen Pedersen, Director Algo Trading Solutions and Digitization
  • Convex Energy GmbH: Alexander Reinhold, CEO and Partner
  • Danske Commodities A/S: Tim Kummerfeld, Director, Head of Intraday Power Trading
  • Energi Danmark A/S: Ronni Bruun Bodal, Vice President Proprietary Trading
  • enspired GmbH: Jürgen Mayerhofer, CEO
  • Outlook Energy Ltd: Timothy Varday, Director
  • Quark Energy Limited: Eleonora Pilla, Senior Market Advisor
  • Trafigura Denmark APS: Pavlo Skorynskyi, Lead Intraday Trader
  • TrailStone Renewables GmbH: Cedric Le-Tallec, Head of Power Trading

The group of Local Suppliers and Consumers will be represented by:

  • DB Energie GmbH: Waldemar Schlaht, Head of Front Office Team
  • EWE TRADING GmbH: Svend Ocke Bull, Head of Short Term Trading and Trading Services
  • MVV Trading GmbH: Jan Brübach, Managing Director

The group of TSOs will be represented by:

  • 50Hertz Transmission GmbH: Dirk Biermann, COO
  • Austrian Power Grid AG: Christian Todem, Head of System Development
  • RTE Réseau de transport d’électricité: Audrey Mahuet, Project Manager

The total number of voters was 92 and the number of candidates increased from 35 to 38. “The Exchange Council and its work constitute an important foundation of our market initiatives and products”, says Ralph Danielski, Chief Executive Officer of EPEX SPOT. “We are pleased to see that our members equally appreciate the role of this sounding board, and we look forward to the next years of cooperation with our Exchange Council members.”

The newly voted Exchange Council will assemble for their next meeting in June 2024.


The Exchange Council of EPEX SPOT is an official body of the Exchange. 29 members represent adequately the diversity of economic and corporate profiles that exists among the Exchange Members from various sectors: producers, power trading companies, transmission system operators, regional suppliers, and financial service providers, as well as commercial consumers and academics. Its missions include in particular the adoption of the Exchange Rules and the Code of Conduct of EPEX SPOT and their amendments. The Exchange Council approves new trading systems as well as new contracts or market areas and approves the appointment of the Head of the Market Surveillance Office. It meets up quarterly.

The European Power Exchange EPEX SPOT SE and its affiliates operate physical short-term electricity markets in 13 countries: in Central Western Europe, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, the Nordics and in Poland. Furthermore, EPEX SPOT newly offers local flexibility markets solution and Guarantees of Origin auctions, to foster the integration of renewable energy sources and to enhance the engagement of consumers and producers in the power market.


As part of EEX Group, a group of companies serving international commodity markets, EPEX SPOT is committed to the creation of a pan-European power market. Over 400 trading members are registered on EPEX SPOT. 49% of its equity is held by HGRT, a holding of transmission system operators. For more information, please visit www.epexspot.com.