Welcome to EPEX SPOT!

General conditions

Any user of this website expressly agrees to the Conditions of Use published in the Privacy Notice and the Usage of Website.


Market Data Use

The content of the Website is to be used exclusively for internal reasons. Commercial usage is only allowed after explicit approval of EPEX SPOT. Please click here for General Conditions of Data Use.


EPEX SPOT SE is a company with a two-tier governance system consisting of the Management Board and the Supervisory Board. It is held by EEX Group and HGRT and has two additional Exchange bodies, the Exchange Council and the Market Surveillance office. 


EPEX SPOT is operated by EPEX SPOT SE which is a European company (Societas Europaea or SE). EPEX SPOT SE is incorporated in France, but the rules that are applicable to it are defined at European level. The foundation of a Societas Europaea (SE) allows companies incorporated in different member states to merge or form a holding company or joint subsidiary, while avoiding the legal and practical constraints arising from the existence of different legal systems.

Supervisory Board

The shareholders appoint a Supervisory Board, composed of outstanding actors of the European energy sector, which elects the Management Board. While the Management Board is responsible for commercial, economic and operational decisions, the Supervisory Board approves the strategy and budget of the company, controls the actions of the management and elects the Management board. The creation of the Supervisory Board supports EPEX SPOT’s work on the integration of the European power market and takes into account the increasing number of collaborations of European and international scale.

The members of the Supervisory Board are:

  • Mr Dietmar Beck, Senior Advisor European Markets and Congestion Management at Amprion GmbH
  • Mr Jean-François Conil-Lacoste, former President of PELOUPIA, until 31 May 2022
  • Mrs Clotilde Levillain, member of the Managing Board, Managing Director of the Customers Market & System Division, RTE
  • Mr Thomas Karall, Member of the Board, Austrian Power Grid AG
  • Mrs Anja Kiessling, Chief Financial Officer, European Energy Exchange AG
  • Dr Egbert Laege, Managing Director SEEHG Securing Energy for Europe Holding GmbH, Berlin
  • Mr James Matthys-Donnadieu, (First Deputy Chairperson of the Supervisory Board), Chief Customers, Markets and System Officer, ELIA SA
  • Dr Dr Tobias Paulun, CEO of European Commodity Clearing (ECC)
  • Mr Peter Reitz(Chairperson of the Supervisory Board) Chief Executive Officer, European Energy Exchange AG
  • Mr Hans E. SchweickardtSenior Advisor, Blackstone London
  • Mrs Yvonne Visser-Stamformer Head Compliance & Integrity officer at TENNET, until 31 March 2022
  • Mr Yves Zumwald, Chief Executive Officer, Swissgrid AG

Exchange Council

The Exchange Council of EPEX SPOT is an official body of the Exchange. 27 members and 8 permanent guests represent adequately the diversity of economic and corporate profiles that exists among the Exchange Members: Utilities and aggregators, trading companies, local suppliers and consumers, transmission system operators, banks, financial service providers, clearing banks and academics. This diversity reflects the objective of providing an efficient and competitive market in Europe.

Its missions include in particular the adoption of the Exchange Rules and the Code of Conduct of EPEX SPOT and their amendments. The Exchange Council approves new trading systems as well as new products or market areas and approves the appointment of the Head of the Market Surveillance. The body makes sure that the services and products of the exchange correspond to the needs of the market and that they can be implemented in legal and operational terms. It meets up quarterly.

By establishing an Exchange Council, EPEX SPOT has opened a permanent two-way street of interacting with our customers.

Members of the EPEX SPOT Exchange Council

The group of Utilities and Aggregators will be represented by:

  • Alpiq AG: Christoph Bellin, Head Intraday
  • Compagnie Nationale du Rhône: Rémi Perrin, Head of Trading
  • EDF Trading: Jonathan Halimi, Intraday Power Trading Manager
  • Edison S.p.A.: Andrea Siri, Head of Origination
  • Electrabel SA: Vincent Verbeke, Member of the Executive Committee
  • EnBW Energie-Baden-Württemberg AG: Dr. Bernhard Walter (Chairperson of the Exchange Council), Head of Market Design & Regulatory Affairs
  • Eneco Energy Trade B.V.: Paul Smeets, Head of Short Term Trading
  • Enel Global Trading S.p.A.: Dominic Vincent Ursino, Head of Power Trading Italy
  • E.ON Energy Markets GmbH: Tim Pirnay, Director Forward Trading
  • Statkraft Markets GmbH: Patrick Otto, Head of Algorithmic Intraday Energy Management
  • TotalEnergies Electricité et Gaz France SA: Benoit Grehaigne, Head of EU ST Power trading
  • Uniper Global Commodities SE: Michael Bonde, Lead Power Trader
  • Vattenfall Energy Trading GmbH: Simon Peiner, Director Prompt Trading and Operations
  • VERBUND Energy4Business GmbH: Manfred Knabl, Head of Trading


The group of Trading Companies will be represented by:

  • Danske Commodities A/S: Anders Severin Kring Jensen, Director, Head of Intraday
  • enspired GmbH: Jürgen Mayerhofer, CEO & Co-Founder
  • In Commodities: Kenneth Søndergaard, Head of Intraday Trading
  • RESPECT ENERGY S.A.: Sebastian Jabłoński, Chairperson of the Management Board
  • RWE Supply & Trading GmbH: Paul Dawson, Head of Regulatory Affairs
  • TrailStone Renewables GmbH: Cedric Le Tallec, Head of Power Trading


The group of Local Suppliers and Consumers will be represented by:

  • enercity AG: Dr. Jan Sierig, Head of Markets
  • EWE TRADING GmbH: Svend Ocke Bull, Head of Short Term Trading
  • MVV Trading GmbH: Hendrik Heese, Head of Trading


The group of TSOs will be represented by:

  • Amprion: Ralf Lonsdorfer, Head of Frontoffice-Energy Market
  • RTE: Audrey Mahuet, Head of Transparency and Data
  • Swissgrid: Dr. Joerg Spicker, Senior Strategic Advisor


Permanent guests:

  • 50Hertz Transmission GmbH: Dr. Dirk Biermann, Managing Director, Chief Markets and System Operation Officer
  • Austrian Power Grid AG: Christian Todem, Head of Market Management
  • Elia: Benjamin Genêt, EU Market Integration
  • Enedis: Sandrine Chevalier, Head of Flexibility Mechanism Department
  • Northpool BV: Stefan de Weger, Lead Trader Intraday
  • RWTH Aachen University: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Albert Moser, Professor Transmission Grids and Energy Economics
  • Tennet TSO GmbH: Carsten Pflanz, Head European Integration Projects
  • TransnetBW GmbH: Pavel Zolotarev, Head of Trading

Shareholder Structure

EPEX SPOT’s equity capital is divided between EEX Group (51%) and HGRT (49%), a holding composed of the Transmission System Operators Amprion, APG, Elia, RTE, Swissgrid and TenneT. This shareholder structure illustrates that EPEX SPOT is as inclusive of as many interests as possible. 


Shareholder structure