Any user of this website expressly agrees to the Conditions of use published in the General Conditions and undertakes to comply with them.

Read More

main navigation

About us Exchange Council


EPEX SPOT Exchange Council

The Exchange Council of EPEX SPOT is an official body of the Exchange. 22 members and 4 permanent guests represent adequately the diversity of economic and corporate profiles that exists among the Exchange Members from various sectors: power trading companies, transmission system operators, regional suppliers, brokers and financial service providers, as well as commercial consumers and academics. Its missions include in particular the adoption of the Exchange Rules and the Code of Conduct of EPEX SPOT and their amendments. The Exchange Council approves new trading systems as well as new Contracts or Market Areas and approves the appointment of the Head of the Market Surveillance Office. It meets up quarterly.

The Exchange Members are represented by:

The group of Banks, Financial Service Providers and Clearing Banks will be represented by:

  • ABN AMRO Bank Frankfurt Branch: Mr. Vincent van Lith

The group of Utilities and Aggregators will be represented by:

  • Alpiq AG: Pierre Guesry, Head of Power West
  • Kinect Energy AS: Therese Gjerde, Vice President - Head of Spot Management
  • Compagnie Nationale du Rhône: Rémi Perrin, Head of Trading
  • EDF Trading: Julien Haure, Trading Manager Short Term
  • Edison Trading S.p.A.: Andrea Siri, Head of Power Trading SEE, Branch Manager Bulgaria Branch - Vizevorsitzender
  • EnBW AG: Dr. Bernhard Walter, Senior Manager Market Design & Regulatory Affairs - Vorsitzender
  • Eneco: Lucien Wiegers
  • ENEL Trade: Dr. Nigel Hawkins, Head of Power and Fuel Portfolio Management
  • Uniper Global Commodities SE: Michael Bonde, Lead Trader
  • Engie: Vincent Verbeke, Head of Prompt Optimization & Trading
  • RWE Supply & Trading GmbH: Paul Dawson, Head of Regulatory Affairs
  • Statkraft: Andreas Bader, Vice President Shift Trading & Market Access
  • Vattenfall: Marcus Bokermann, Director Prompt Power Trading Markets
  • VERBUND Trading GmbH: Dr. Stephan Sharma, Member of the Management Board

The group of Local Suppliers and Consumers will be represented by:

  • MVV Trading GmbH: Adolf Plentz, Head of Front Office Power
  • Stadtwerke Hannover AG: Ralf Henze, Head of Trading TSO


The group of Trading Companies will be represented by:

  • Danske Commodities A/S: Jesper Tronborg, VP, Head of Trading
  • Mercuria: Mark Bosshard, Power & Gas Operations
  • Neas Energy A/S: Steffen Borrisholt Sørensen, Lead Trader, Structuring
  • Vitol SA: Erik Hokmark

The group of TSOs will be represented by:

  • 0Hertz Transmission GmbH: Dr. Dirk Biermann, Managing Director, Chief Markets and System Operations Officer
  • Amprion GmbH: Ralf Lonsdorfer, Front Office Manager
  • RTE: Emanuele Colombo, Director Power System Economics 
  • Swissgrid: Dr. Bastian Schwark, Head of TSO Markets
  • TransnetBW GmbH: Andreas Semmig, Head of Trading


The TSOs selling Market Coupling Contracts nominated Mr. Andreas Semmig from Transnet BW GmbH as their representative. 

Permanent guests:

  • Thorsten Dietz, Tennet TSO GmbH
  • Manfred Pils, APG
  • Jan-Horst Keppler, Université Paris Dauphine
  • Michael Redanz, EWE
  • James Matthys-Donnadieu, Elia

Role of the Exchange Council



to the top